styling the seasons | june

beach collection

I’ve been trying to decide whether or not to join in and style the seasons this month. You see there aren’t many photogenic corners in my house at the moment. Each week is seeing progress but with boxes everywhere and furniture in the corners I usually use, I’ve lost some of my enthusiasm for taking pretty photographs. My creative side has hit a block…

But then I thought actually, lets go with a styled flat lay (one of my favourite things) and see what happens. So I set myself a little ‘studio’ up by the open doors, enjoying the sunshine while sitting in the shade, and actually I’m happy with the result! Creative success! For me at least. The light is a bit blue. I can live with that.

shell identification

I decided I would start beside the sea. As it warms up our family beach hunts become so much more pleasurable and we linger in the evening light collecting treasures. It’s not always just about the pretty shells, we like to learn as we go and these observer books are so useful for that (not just as a photo prop)!

sweet peas

Then as I was arranging the beach finds I could smell these sweet peas which are scrambling up a willow support just outside the door, so it only seemed right to share them here too, to bring the garden in as June is my favourite month for garden flowers. I thought I would line the sweet peas up in their flowering cycle, plants are incredibly clever, from a seed to this in a few months. Baffling.

sweet pea flowers

So what does June mean to me…? So much more than I could capture here. Lets just say  growth and life and the great outdoors pretty much sum it up. Oh and tennis and Pimms… I enjoyed finding a quiet hour to photograph and type with doors wide open and the warm breeze filled with the scent of sweet peas. Moments like these are pretty much all it takes to make me happy.

sweet peas

Styling the seasons is a monthly styling challenge run by Katy from Apartment Apothecary and Charlotte from Lotts and lots and can be found across social media under #stylingtheseasons.

I hope your month of June is a happy one.

Julia x

11 thoughts on “styling the seasons | june

  1. The photos all look stunning! I love the observer book, I think my kids would love that. They are forever collecting treasures on the beach.

    Like

  2. This is so wonderful, Julia! The sweet peas especially, and I can picture you there by the window with the breeze wafting that sweet perfume into the house.

    I have loved seeing the simpler approach to Styling the Seasons over the last month or two and this is a great interpretation xx

    Like

    1. Thank you Kate! Complicated is not really my thing, one of the reasons I was undecided was just that! So I do appreciate your comment. And oh the sweet peas, they smell amazing! J x

      Like

  3. Julia, this is so beautiful and I’m so glad you joined in despite the creative block. The Sweetpea cycle is my favourite bit – so very clever and thoughtful. I also love the neutral colours and how calm and tranquil the little scenes you have created feel. Just lovely xx

    Like

  4. Gorgeous! And I’m not at all jealous that your sweet peas are flowering, mine aren’t even showing any signs of buds yet. Love the way you have lined them up in their life cycle. And I totally agree, June is a pretty good month for garden flowers, as long as you have someone’s garden that you can borrow them from 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Emma! You know you’re always welcome to pop over and raid the garden… Although I haven’t filled it up so much this year, there are still flowers to be found xx

      Like

  5. Such beautiful images Julia – I adore your flat lays – and the simplicity. Wandering along the beach looking for treasures and pottering with my camera is one of my absolute favourite things to do – June is definitely about the outdoors 🙂

    Like

  6. I love sweet peas… these ones are very pleasing indeed – the colours I planted this year are a bit brash… still love ’em though!

    Like

Leave a comment